Prime Minister Boris Johnson has announced tougher restrictions in parts of England in response to the new fast spreading variant of COVID-19.

The following areas are now in tier 4:

  • Kent, Buckinghamshire, Berkshire, Surrey (excluding Waverley), Gosport, Havant, Portsmouth, Rother and Hastings;
  • London (all 32 boroughs and the City of London); and
  • the East of England (Bedford, Central Bedford, Milton Keynes, Luton, Peterborough, Hertfordshire, Essex excluding Colchester, Uttlesford and Tendring).

No one should leave or enter Tier 4 areas. Non-essential retail, indoor leisure, indoor entertainment and personal care sectors must all close.

One person can meet with one other person in an outside public space. Rules on support bubbles and childcare bubbles will remain currently, and communal worship can continue.

Due to the risk the new variant poses, the Christmas bubble policy will no longer apply in Tier 4.

For Tier 1, 2 and 3 Christmas bubbles can take place with up to 3 households, but only for Christmas Day.

Tier 4 rules will be reviewed on 30th December.

Related Articles

Related Articles

Government Unveils New Guidance On Working Safely For People Who Run Or Work In Shops

New step by step guidelines to help shop owners and employees work safely during coronavirus are now available.
Read More

Camelot – Update To In-Store Visits

Camelot have outlined how face-to-face store visits from their Retail Sales Executives (RSEs) will be affected by the current government guidance across each UK nation.
Read More

Scotland’s Route Map Through And Out Of The Crisis

The Scottish Government have released their route map of phases for easing lockdown.
Read More